

## National Dhanwantari Ayurveda Awards

## Why in News?

National Dhanwantari Ayurveda Awards conferred to three distinguished practitioners for their contributions to the field of traditional Indian medicine.

- National Dhanwantari Ayurveda Awards It is given to
  - Celebrate excellence in Ayurveda,
  - $\circ\,$  Acknowledging practitioners who have excelled in research, practice, and education,
  - To those who have played a pivotal role in elevating Ayurveda's stature both nationally and globally.
- **Instituted by** Ministry of Ayush.

In 2016, the Government of India's Ministry of Ayush declared the birth anniversary of Dhanvantari as National Ayurveda Day.

- **Components of the Awards** Each recipient of the National Dhanwantari Ayurveda Awards received
  - **Citation** Recognizing their exceptional contributions and dedication to Ayurveda.
  - **Trophy** Featuring the Statue of Lord Dhanwantari, symbolizing the divine healer.
  - **Cash Prize** A monetary award of ₹5 Lakh to support further advancements in their field.
- **Significance** Acknowledge the dedication and innovative contributions of Ayurveda stalwarts.
- Encourage upcoming practitioners and researchers to pursue excellence in traditional medicine.
- Emphasize the integration of time-honored Ayurvedic practices with modern healthcare systems, ensuring that ancient wisdom continues to evolve and meet contemporary challenges.
- Strengthen India's role as a global leader in *holistic healthcare* by showcasing the rich legacy and ongoing innovation in Ayurveda.
- Award recipients, 2025
  - Vaidya Tara Chand Sharma Renowned Nadi Vaidya and accomplished author.
  - Vaidya Maya Ram Uniyal Distinguished scholar of Dravyaguna Vigyana from Uttar Pradesh.
  - $\circ$  Vaidya Sameer Govind Jamadagni Founder of the Vishwa Vyakhyanmala

national conference and Vishwa Ayurveda Prabodhin.

In October 2016, on Ayurveda Day, the first All India Institute of Ayurveda was inaugurated by PM Narendra Modi in New Delhi.

## Reference

PIB | National Dhanwantari Ayurveda Awards

